Connection Between Fencing Wire and Knitting Needles

6 12 2012

photo (104)The other day I was working with my brother to modify a piece of equipment. We needed a framework to hold a bucket in place. I said I thought we needed a piece of number 8 fencing wire to do the trick. He found a piece in the garage. As he brought it in I recognised that it looked the same diameter as a number 8 knitting needle. I commented to that effect. He said ” Yes, 4 mm.” I then said “And number 10?” He said “3.25 mm”.

So the numbering of fencing wire and knitting needles is the same.

Amazing that it has taken me so long to see the connection, having grown up on a farm

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

