Estimation

9 02 2013

We were studying estimation last lesson. As I read the program I noticed the suggestion that the students estimate the number of lollies in a jar. The only jar I could find was

photo

The only lollies we had were snakes which added to the complexity of the task.

The class embraced the challenge with enthusiasm. As I collected the guesses I noted the range of responses. Luckily there was one student who guessed correctly. I then asked what strategies they used. To my astonishment, one pair informed me that they had jumped onto the internet and googled the average weight of a snake. What a brilliant strategy! Unfortunately their response was not the correct one.

As the class left the lesson I produced a pair of tongs from a plastic bag and gave each student a snake. The winner received three.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment