Smartphones and Mathematics Learning

21 02 2013

Yesterday I discovered that all the students in my Year 11 class had a smartphone or access to their parents’ smartphone. As homework, I gave them a pair of equations to solve and a pair of expressions to simplify. They were allowed to choose one from each pair and then had to video the explanation of their solution. They could email videos up to 53 seconds in duration and they were allowed to email me one or two videos to complete their assigned task.

The emails are just starting to kill my inbox. I’m sitting here with my i-phone, watching their explanation and emailing back several sentences of positive feedback or pertinent suggestions for improvement, It’s a brilliant way to give specific direction for their learning and its quick, easy and enjoyable for me too. Its a winner for all involved.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

