Te Matua Ngahere or Father of the Forest in the Waipoua Kauri Forest

19 01 2016

On Friday I visited the Waipoua Kauri Forest. I was taken by the size of the trees. I was also fascinated that the plaques quote the girth of the tree and not the diameter, which is more meaningful to me. I wondered how many visitors felt likewise and were unable to work out the diameter having forgotten the relationship of diameter and circumference and Pi.

This plaque details the second largest and oldest Kauri tree in the Waipoua Forest.
To capture the perspective, I turned my phone on its side and took a vertical panorama.

The plaque has a decimal point missing in each number where there is a space.   
  

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

